About Bahrain

About The Kingdom of Bahrain

The Kingdom of Bahrain (meaning "Kingdom of Two Seas"), is an island country in the Persian Gulf.

Bahrain is a constitutional monarchy headed by the King & the head of government is the Prime Minister, who presides over a cabinet of twenty-five members, where 80% of its members are from the royal family. Bahrain has a bicameral legislature with a lower house, the Chamber of Deputies, elected by universal suffrage and an upper house, the Shura Council, appointed by the king.

The planned Qatar Bahrain Causeway will link Bahrain and Qatar as the longest fixed link in the world. Bahrain is also known for its oil and pearls. The country is also the home of many popular structures such as the Bahrain World Trade Center and the Bahrain Financial Harbour, and also the home of many skyscrapers.

Bahrain is one of the most popular tourist destinations the Middle East. Most of the visitors are from the surrounding Arab states. The Lonely Planet describes Bahrain as "an excellent introduction to the Persian Gulf", because of its authentic Arab heritage and reputation as liberal and modern.

Bahrain is split into five governorates.

  • Capital Governorate

  • Central Governorate

  • Muharraq Governorate

  • Northern Governorate

  • Southern Governorate




750 Sq Kms



Official Language



Bahraini Dinar (BHD)

Country Code


Internet TLD


Drives on the


Time Zone